Tags

 

 

 

It had been a very long break from baking and cooking due to change of job. Sadly, I do not get to enjoy the kitchen as much as I like nowadays. I cant even remember the last thing I baked nor cooked.

But I managed to squeeze some time out to cook Glutinous Rice! The brown version.
Stir-fry glutinous rice

 

Recipe (adapted from Christine’s Recipes, i tripled the recipe and modified)

500g glutinous rice
3 chinese sausage
2 handful of small dried shrimps
6 pcs dried mushroom (select the thin and flat ones)
ard 4cups of water (can use mushroom soaked water and top up with normal water or stock)

Seasoning (to taste)
5 tbsp light soy sauce
2 – 3 tsp dark soy suace
4 tsp sugar

Method
1. Soak glutinous rice for 3hours
2. Wash and soak dried shrimps and mushroom separately (can slightly chop shrimps, slice mushroom thinly)
3. Soak chinese sausage with warm water for 5min, remove wax skin and slice to small pieces
4. Stir-fry chinese sausage without oil till fragant, add dried shrimps, followed by mushroom. Remove and set aside. (i did not add any oil for this stage)
5. Add 6tbsp oil and rice, stir-fry at medium heat
6. Add 3 tbsp of water at each time when rice get dry, till cook. Est 30mins. (rice will get sticky when cooked)
7. Add chinese sausage, dried shrimps and mushroom and seasonings. Stir well and adjust seasoning to taste.

note: i added peanuts. boiled a handful of peanuts for 10mins – 15mins (still crunchy), drained and set aside. add at step 7.

 

BCL IMG_5596

I’m so proud of myself! The taste can be stronger, but I didn’t want to risk overcooking the glutinous rice while trying to adjust the taste. Nonetheless, it’s pretty good! Rice is of the right sticky-ness, taste slightly on the sweet side and with lots and lots of my favorite ingredients in glutinous rice.

And stir-frying this dish is the traditional way of doing it. There’s a short-cut of steaming it, you can google that.

Will I try this again? Not in the near future because it’s rather tedious but I will when I crave for glutinous rice again.

