Tags

 

After my attempt at Pineapple Tart I (close version), I tried my hands on the open version one and I feel so proud of myself! Besides the fact of not preparing the pineapple jam myself, I did everything else! *besides washing*

Pineapple Tart (ready as gift)

Don’t they look good enough to be sold?

I bought the pastry cutter from Phoon Huat last year and it was good! It gave a very clean cut and very nice design. For this open version, I used Bake King’s pineapple jam which is low in sugar, hence, not so sweet. A malay auntie told me to cook the store-bought jam with a bit of butter to soften the pineapple jam and make it more moist and soft. So I followed suit.

Pineapple Tart (un-bake)

Recipe (adapted from Little Teochew)

400g plain flour
50g cornflour
1/4 (heaped) tsp salt (i omit)
280g cold, unsalted butter (i used 250g)
3 egg yolks, beated
3 tbsp cold water (i did not use, as the dough was wet enough)
6 tbsp icing sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (i omit)
Egg wash, 1 egg yolk + 1tbsp water (can add a bit bit coloring as not very golden)

Method
1. Sift flours, icing sugar and salt (if using). Mix well to combine
2. Cut cold butter into small pieces and rub into the flour using finger tips (original use fork)
3. Add liquids slowly into the butter and flour mixture to form dough. (Do not knead)
4. Chill in the fridge for about 10mins, covered.
5. Rolled out to desired thickness and cut out using cutter.
6. Top with ball of pineapple jam (mine is around 10g each), press in slightly.
7. Egg wash pastry portion

Bake 160degree C for 20mins, do not overbake or the pineapple jam will be dry

Pineapple Tart (with a dot)This recipe is really melt-in-the-mouth pastry base. I did 1 serving with Lurpak and 1 with Planta. Both are good, but the Lurpak gave a more buttery taste (something extra). All who tried agrees. Something to improve on is the pineapple jam. It’s a tad dry. Maybe I should have spray more water before baking or dip them slightly in water as suggested by one of the blog I read.

Nonetheless, they look very presentable! Ended my CNY bake with this pretty little things that everyone love. I’m so proud of myself. If time permits, I would love to bake this every year!

This year i did not do things the traditional way, but then again, i appreciated the manual work that goes behind every single pineapple tart.

they are a pretty to look at
a part of CNY
a taste of our culture

