Generally I love most of the bakes with coconut. Though dessicated, the fragrance of coconut is always there. Even so after baking. Chance upon this recipe from the Nasi Lemak Lover’s CNY event post, and decided to give it a try. And happen to receive a new cookie cutter from a friend.

Coconut Cookie

I did two servings of recipe at a go and it was a pleasure baking this. Not only is the cutter an eye candy, the dough is easy to handle.

Recipe (adapted from Butter, Flour & Me)

125g butter (i used unsalted, so added in 1/4 tsp salt)
100g icing sugar
1 egg
220g self raising flour (i use 220g plain flour + 1.5 tsp baking powder)
75g dessicated coconut

Method
1. Cream butter and sugar till pale
2. Add in egg slowly, mix well
3. Add in flour + dessicated coconut, till dough and mix well

Bake 170 degree C, 15 – 18min or golden brown (i baked 20min)

Simple right?

Crispy Coconut Cookie

And it’s really crispy. I’m not sure I love the cookie cutter more or the cookie more because I had always wanted this cutter and it was brought all the way from China. And I love how I can bite the cookie according to the ‘portion’. So it was both fun for me to bake and fun for me to snack on thereafter.

CNY or not, this is a classic cookie to have.

