Tags

Last year Mr Boyfriend and me made a promise to make a new type of CNY snacks every year. Last year we did egg roll the traditional way. Super hard work!

This year, I decided to try my hands on pineapple tarts! They are such a must have for CNY and at the same time, a bit costly. I remember my parents used to order tons and tons of this from Smiling Orchid. Then eventually it became homemade pineapple tarts from colleagues. This year, 2013, I told my mum I will help her save money and make my own pineapple tarts!

Pineapple Tart (closed)

If I can do this, everyone can! All you need is patient. Because it’s quite a labour intensive bake.

Recipe (adapted from Fresh from Oven)
est 70 to 75pcs

for the pastry:
220g unsalted butter, at room temperature (get the best butter you can, i used Lurpak)
375g all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt (i omit as i used salted butter)
2 egg yolks (beaten)
50g confectioners’ sugar/icing sugar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 egg yolk, for egg wash

Method

1. Sieve flour, icing sugar (if using) and cornstarch together
2. Cream butter till light
3. Add in egg yolks slowly
4. Add in flour and sugar and mix till dough is form
5. Chill in the fridge for 30mins
6. Wrap est 10 to 12g of pastry around 6g of pineapple jam. Egg wash

Bake in preheat oven 180degree C, 15mins. Egg wash a second time, bake another 5mins

I bought pineapple jam from baking shop for this as I’m not up for making the pineapple jam from scratch.

Pineapple Tart (eaten)And I’m in love! With the tart and also Lurpak. I sure it’s Lurpak that gives the pastry dough that buttery taste and softness of the dough. And while baking, you can smell the butter fragrance lingering around. Even so after removing them from the oven.

How the recipe fare? Well, I like the softness of the dough. And it’s also easy to handle while molding. The most tedious part I guess is molding the pineapple jam. Once that part is over, the process is pretty smooth. Will definitely bake more of this for CNY.

The next time you enjoy a piece of handmade pineapple tart, do enjoy it slowly and appreciate the hard work that goes to each individual piece.

