I guess it’s not hard to know what’s this post is about with the pan above. Only chiffon cake will requires this special pan with a ‘hole’ in the center to better spread the heat to the whole cake. 

It’s my first attempt at this temperamental cake and it took me ages before I decided I shall give this a try. I was so damn happy when it raised beautifully in the oven. But the fear was not over as I saw numerous chiffon collapse or sink after removal from the oven.  

I’m not sure why, but this chiffon easily unmould itself from the pan when I invert it for cooling. So lucky me, I have a well shaped chiffon.

I can’t help but fall in love with the chiffon. When wind blows, there’s the chocolate scent in the air. Love it.

What you need (seen at Cook.Bake.Love, from Okashi: Sweet Treats Made With Love) (recipe uses 20cm, i used 22cm pan)

5 egg yolks
20g sugar
60g vegetable oil
70g water
50g cake flour
30g cocoa powder (i used Van Houten)

5 egg whites
90g sugar
10g corn flour

Method

1) Whisk egg yolks and sugar until the sugar dissolves.
2) Gradually add in vegetable oil, followed by water.
3) Sift cake flour and cocoa powder twice and add into egg yolk mixture. Mix until just combined. Set aside.
4) In another bowl, whisk egg whites until foamy. Add in combined sugar and corn flour mixture gradually and continue whisking until stiff peak form.
5) Gently fold in the egg white into the egg yolk batter (in step 3) in 3 batches.
6) Pour the batter into an ungreased chiffon tin. Give the tin a few slight knocks on the tabletop to remove air bubbles. Bake in preheated oven at 170 deg C for 40 minutes (i followed Cook.Bake.Love and lower to 160C for the last 10 mins).
7) Remove from oven and invert the tin immediately onto a cooling rack. Unmould the cake only when it is completely cool.

I quickly took a bite after slicing and melted. The chiffon is so soft and chocolaty. Since its my first chiffon, I’m not sure how moist it was suppose to be, but I find this a bit moist. Maybe can consider a longer baking time the next time. Nonetheless, it is super soft and bounce back when pressed. I’m impressed! So proud of myself.

tempted to bake your own?

update 09 Nov 12, 10pm: realized the chiffon sunk evenly throughout and still a bit too moist, though still spongy. Read through some blogs and suspect to be under-baked. Not 100% successful, but soon to be there.

