Tags

 

My mum had been requesting for Coconut Tart since I first baked this not too long ago. And I finally gave in as one of my colleague had also requested for this. It’s the second time I bake something out of request. When the mood is right, it feels pretty good! At least they appreciated and enjoy it.

 

This time round however, I used a different tart base from the original recipe as I have a feeling the base I used in 1980s Cake Tart would be more suitable and I was right!

What you need (xTina’s mix’n’match)

For crust (modified from Peach Tart recipe from a baking class in 1982)
170g plain flour
113g butter
1 egg
1 tsp milk powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
some salt

Method for crust
1. Using a mixer, mix everything together to form dough (should only take a minute or two)
2. Mould into tart tin and use a fork to ‘poke’ the base
3. Bake in preheated oven, 400F, 12min

For the filling (seen at Hearty Bakes, from Tarts my heart Heart of romance)
40g butter
80ml water
80g dessicated coconut
160g sugar
2 eggs
1tsp baking powder
1tsp flour
1/2 tsp vanilla essence (i omit)
150-200ml evaporated milk (i used 150ml)

Method for the filling
1. Melt butter with water (i used water bath method), pour into mixing bowl. Combine with remaining ingredients, mix until blended.
2. Spoon filling into the half baked tart cases and decorate with cherry
3. Baking in preheated oven at 175degree C for 25-30 mins (till crust and filling turns slightly golden brown)
4. Cool and remove from mould.

The tart base and the filling truly match each other. When you bite into this tart, you wont feel that the tart base will separate from the filling. Instead, they seems to be on a dating mode, sticking nicely to each other.

And another reason to love this, is the easiness of handling the dough. Non-sticky and no need to chill. A perfect 1-bowl dough mixture. Coconut filling was a 2-bowl mixture.

A perfect marriage

 

