After the failure in my first Recreation of Recipe way back, I never once though of recreating the 1980s recipes again. Yes, the failure was really a huge thing to me. Then one day I mentioned that I wanna bake some cake tart, my mum gave me the recipe she learn 30years ago. It’s a challenge.

The whole process was slightly more tedious than the other three tarts I baked previously. Mainly was because of the measurements (1/2 egg white?!) and everything is in oz. I’m more used to g. But it was a success. They all came out decent looking and edible.

They look like egg tarts in disguise.

What you need (modified from Peach Tart recipe from a baking class in 1982)

For crust
170g plain flour
113g butter
1 egg
1 tsp milk powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
some salt

For cake batter
3 egg yolk
1 1/2 egg white
70g sugar
57g butter
57g plain flour
2 tbsp evaporated milk
1/4 tsp baking powder (i used double acting)

Method for Crust
1. Using a mixer, mix everything together to form dough (should only take a minute or two)
2. Mould into tart tin
3. Bake in preheated oven, 400F, 12min

Method for Cake
1. Melt butter, using double boil method, set aside
2. Sift flour and baking powder together, set aside
3. Beat egg yolk, egg white and sugar till pale yellow
4. Add evaporated milk, mix slightly
5. Add melted butter, do not mix
6. Add flour (2), using cutting method, mix the flour into the egg mixture
7. Spoon to pre-baked tarts, bake 350F, 15min or till cook and golden brown

I’m really surprise on how easily handle is the crust dough! It is seriously the most friendly crust so far. No need to rest it in the fridge nor does it stick to the fingers. And the best part? It slide out from the tart tin! Amazing or not? But on the down side, it’s slightly too crispy for my liking and too heavy taste on contrast with the cake in the center. The original recipe calls for whipped cream and a peach on the top, but I omitted those for a plain looking cake tart.BUT, to add that little element of ‘me’, I added a raisin into each tart before spooning in the cake batter. That truly save this Cake Tart. That little sourness and sweetness from the raisin is the only thing that fight back that crust and won. The cake portion is almost non-existence when you bite into it. But taking a small bite just on the cake, it’s sweet and soft.

Will I bake this again? Yes, but maybe another recipe. The crust recipe is a keeper though, but I will likely reduce the baking soda in it for a less crispy texture.

But maybe, just maybe, people in the best like such texture. While nowadays we tend to look for a lighter texture and taste. Maybe, why not?

Taste of the past

