Tags

To me, Crispy Salted Chicken Bites 盐酥鸡, had always been a cafe type of dishes. That simple yet costly dish. Then one day, I saw this recipe at Min’s Blog and couldn’t believe it! The recipe seems manageable, so I saved the recipe immediately. But I never though I will really cook it.  

I didn’t have everything required on hand so I modified it slightly.

What you need (seen at Min’s Blog, from 小小米桶的写食厨房)

200g – 250g Chicken Breast Meat
some 带颗粒的地瓜粉 (i’m not sure what is this, but i used normal tapioca flour)
some basil leaves (i didn’t use)
some white pepper powder (i used 1/4 tsp, a bit spicy)
some chilli powder (i didn’t use)

Marinate
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp rice wine (i used 1/2 tbsp chinese cooking wine)
1/2 tsp garlic paste
1/2 tsp sugar
a bit five spice powder
a bit cinnamon powder
1 egg yolk
1 tsp potato starch flour

Method
1. Wash chicken meat, cut to 1.5cm size and marinate for at least 30mins
2. Coat chicken meat with tapioca flour and let it rest for 3 – 5 min, let the flour be wet before deep drying in medium fire, remove when crispy
3. Using big fire, return the chicken bites into the wok for 30sec – 1min
4. Add 九层塔 for quick frying and remove everything from oil
5. Sprinkle with pepper powder, chilli powder and serve (instead of sprinkling, i stir-fry the pepper powder and some salt in a heated wok without oil and mix with the chicken bites and some dried parsley)

I must confess, my chicken bites did not come out crispy enough so I threw them into the air-fryer for 5mins. That saved this dish!

The end result was a plateful of juicy and soft chicken bites that are both salty and spicy. Could have go a bit more gentle on the salt and pepper though. But regardless, this is really a delicious dish – be it a snack or a dish as part of a meal. It’s amazing to recreate this at home. p.s. the marinate is really good too. I can taste the marinate in the chicken meat itself even with the saltiness on the outer layer, light but distinct.

Yet another amazing journey on the taste buds

