Tags

,

Its pretty rare for me to actually bake a chocolate cake as my mum will always talk me out of it. She is likely the only person that dislike chocolate cake. And it’s not because of the taste, but the color. But I had bookmarked this recipe for the longest time ever and the review was so good!

To make things more interesting, I made a 8” Deep Chocolate Sour Cream Pound Cake using the oven and 5 cupcakes using the air-fryer.

What you need (as seen at The Little Teochew, from The Cake Book by Tish Boyle)

181g all-purpose flour
57g cake flour
92g Dutch-processed cocoa powder
2 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt (i omit as i used salted butter)
340g unsalted butter (i used salted)
500g sugar (i followed The Little Teochew for 380g)
4 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract (i omit)
242g sour cream (i used yogurt)

Method

1. Preheat oven to 325degree F (+/- 163degree C) and prepare a 10” Bundt pan (i used 8” square tin)
2. Sift flours, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt (if using) into a bowl
3. In a bowl of an eletric mixer, using the paddle attachment, beat the butter at medium speed until very creamy, about 2min. Gradually beat in the sugar and increase the speed to medium-high and beat until mixture is well-blended and light, about 4min.
4. At medium speed, add in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary
5. In a small bowl, stir in the vanilla extract into the sour cream.
6. If your mixer has a splatter shield attachment, attach it now. At the low speed, add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture in 3 additions, alternating with the sour cream mixture in 2 additions and mixing just until blended.
7. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top
8. Bake for 65 to 75mins, until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean.
9. Cool on a wire rack for 15mins before removing the cake from the pan and let it cool completely before cutting

If using air-fryer, preheat at 140degree C for 5 to 10mins before putting the cupcakes in and bake for 15mins or more, until the cake tester comes out clean

I know the ‘instructions’ seems like a handful but it’s worth the effort! And it’s actually like a normal ‘butter cake’ but with additional of cocoa and yogurt. But I forgotten about creaming the butter first and did both the butter and sugar together, which is the method I’m used to. Hope it is a harmless mistake!

And using the 8” square tin increased the baking time, it took me around 1hr 30mins to cook the cake thoroughly. And I increased the temperature to +/- 180degree C. 163degree C seems a bit low.

After the long long waiting time, I finally get to taste the cake! I couldn’t wait for the oven-baked one so tried the air-fried cupcake first and it was really good! I cannot believe the air-fryer produce such soft cake! The texture is 99% similar with the baked one. I doubt anyone can tell the difference between the air-fried cupcake and the oven-baked cake. Both are as good!

But personally I won’t really use the air-fryer to bake cupcakes unless I only want to bake 5 to 6 cupcakes. Otherwise a baking oven will be faster. But nonetheless, I’m amazed by the results of the air-fryer.

I love this Deep Chocolate Sour Cream Pound Cake! I should really call this the Deep Chocolate Yogurt Pound Cake instead since I didn’t use any sour cream. True to it’s name, it has a very deep favor in chocolate. Intense but yet not overwhelming that you get sick of it. Texture-wise, it’s soft and almost ‘melt-in-your-mouth’ type but the softness is not that of a butter cake. It’s truly an amazing chocolate cake. Kid of Mr Brownie and Ms Butter? Imagine compacting this cake into 50% of it’s volume, likely you will get a very tasty brownie.

The only thing I will change if I were to bake this again, its a slightly bigger baking tin. Maybe it will help to reduce the baking time.

I also baked some Coconut Raisin Cupcakes as a gift to a friend and his parents who had been very kind to Mr Boyfriend and me. This is the first time I’m giving my bakes as a ‘present’, hope they enjoy them.

P.s. I tried air-frying some Coconut Raisin Cupcakes at 180degree C for 15mins and they came out looking like they had been deep-fried instead.

Pure pleasure

