Tags

, ,

After buying so many foodie magazines, I finally bake something out from it. Like finally! Which is why I was so determined to bake this. At least I did not buy countless of magazines in vent.

Recently I’m hooked to BBC Good Food. And I saw this Chai Tea Cupcakes recipe from the Asian Edition – May 12. After searching online, I realized Chai Tea is some tea & spice mix. Which I don’t really think I will like. So I substituted it with Lipton Tea which I LOVE!!

I kinda love the dots of the tea in the batter. Till this part it looks like it will eventually be like the picture from the magazine. And to throw in something more ‘xtina’, I added fillings too. Jam, chocolate droplets and raisins. And this time round, there’s no knowing which favor you took.

And the baked ones does represent the ones from the magazine! *lucky me* But I must say I was a bit disappointed and know the cuppies had failed in giving out the Lipton Tea scent and taste of the well-like red tea.

But it still looks pretty doesn’t it?

Recipe (adapted from BCC Good Food Asian Edition May 2012)

1 tbsp Lipton Tea leaves (original used chai tea leaves)
225g plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
225g butter
225g sugar
4 eggs
125ml sour cream
jam/ raisin/ chocolate for fillings (optional)

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 180degree C
2.Sift flour, baking powder and tea leaves (grind using pestie and mortar if not fine enough)
3. Beat butter and sugar till light and fluffy
4. Add eggs slowly and beat till combined
5. Add in 1/3 of flour and 1/2 of sour cream. And repeat till finish
6. Scope to paper case and bake for 20 – 25mins

There’s a disappointment in taste – can’t taste the Lipton Tea at all. But the sour cream did make this cupcake a soft one. If I doing this again, maybe I will use more Lipton tea leaves and leave it inside the sour cream. Hopefully it can help to ‘infuse’ some favors into it/ bring some favors out.

Nonetheless the fillings inside make up for the lack of taste.

Not something I will bookmark though. Unless I have some Chai Tea Leaves. Or maybe I can try with green tea powder. Next bake will be better! *cheers*

Disappointment is unavoidable
But there’s always a second try in baking

