This cake was actually a ‘by-product’ of finishing the remaining cream cheese after making a cheesecake. I almost did not bake this as just before this I did a cheesecake and cooked some chinese pear with white fungus. I seriously would have regret not trying this.

Look at that nice golden brown crust on top and that firm looking yellow of the inside. I seriously did not expect this pound cake to be so tasty and satisfying and made my taste buds felt so excited! Yes. I really do love this recipe and this cake. Even boyfriend praised this cake! fyi, he hardly have praises for cakes.

It had been awhile that a cake had given me such satisfactory and excitement when munching it away. Firm and moist, but not oily. Feels damn good having this!

Recipe (adapted from The Little Teochew)

195g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt (i omit this as i used salted butter)
150g unsalted butter (i used salted)
140g cream cheese (i used 125g cream cheese + 25g mozzarella cheese)
200g sugar
3 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (i did not use)
zest of a lemon/ orange (i did not use)

Method

1. Line or butter a 8” square cake. 175degree C.
2. Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda together
3. Mix cheese and butter
4. Add sugar in 3 parts. Mix till light and fluffy.
5. Add eggs one at a time and mix well
6. Fold in flour mixture
7. Pour into prepared pan
8. Sprinkler some mozzarella cheese if desired
9. Bake for 50mins
10. Cool for 20mins before removing from pan and slice

I didn’t had enough cream cheese and I found some mozzarella cheese in the fridge so I just threw them in since it’s still cheese. Just praying it goes well with the cake and it DID!!! I’m really happy with this cake and cannot stop taking another slice.

This is really a must try. As simple as cupcake. Or maybe even simpler as you just have to pour everything into one single pan.

A gem was from the oven
Satisfying to both the tummy and the tongue
This is True Love

